What is Google trying to do to my YouTube account and should I trust them?
I have been getting the above message from Google/YouTube whenever I log into my YouTube account for a few months now. I've always declined as I like my privacy settings the way they are. Here is what Google had to say about it.
I created a new account some months ago and was absolutely horrified at the lack of privacy. From displaying your real name in the comments, to having to link to Google+, and to being unable to hide your channel with no substitute, I was absolutely appalled at how they chose to display my information and the little control they gave me over it.
Needless to say, I did not like the direction they were going in so I have been opting out of making a choice until now. So, here are some questions.
-
- If I make my channel PUBLIC, just how private can I make it? Currently, I keep all of my activity private and inaccessible to no one.
-
- If I choose the public option right now will I be able to make my channel "disabled" in the future?
-
- I do upload videos from time to time to share with friends, but that is it. I average at about 2-3 videos a year all under a minute or two. So if I make my channel private, can I no longer do this?
-
- What does it mean by my comments will be removed? Is this referring to channel comments or video comments? If I disable my channel will I no longer be able to comment on other peoples videos?
-
- This one isn't a question related to the others, but a question to gauge how other people feel. How can they possibly say they are making a better option for "most" people when they are removing functionality from hidden channels? I cannot think of a single positive from this. Do you agree with what they are doing and the direction they are headed in?
Posted Dec 2, 2012, 4:04 PM UTC · edited