Adding my voice to the chorus of long-time subscribers cancelling
I know we're all on the same page but I just canceled my subscription.
I've been paying for pro I think almost as long as it has existed. But this is just ridiculous. The entire reason I pay for pro is so I can use the product more. At this point I've integrated the various models into my workflow, learned which ones are best for which tasks through experience, and appreciate the ability to use a dumber or smarter model depending on the need (weighing task complexity vs rate limit/response speed). How can they deprecate them with no warning? I get the idea of wanting one "Main" model for everyone to default to, sure, but I'm very skeptical that this entire thing isn't just a way to claw back some compute by forcing everyone to use the same heavily rate-limited (and dubiously more powerful) model.
I've been using OpenAI products since the GPT Playground days. I really fail to see how this could ever be considered an "upgrade" when it doesn't even feel any smarter, and now I can use it about 1/5th as much, generously. Please, OpenAI, revert this terrible change. I'll be exploring a Claude subscription in the mean time.
Posted Aug 8, 2025, 5:03 PM UTC