Is it better to play DS2 in share everything mode or not?
I understand a huge element of the game is sharing worlds with other players, but I wonder if anyone else feels like that feature takes away from the experience. I ended up turning off the feature halfway through the Mexico section, because suddenly everywhere I looked there were generators and Timefall shelters, and obviously that's helpful, but doesn't it make things a little too easy? Also, the map ends up being littered with other players' structures and signs, which I actually find annoying sometimes :D
Does anyone else feel the same way? I don't mind the lost cargo feature (Although I feel like there's a lot less lost cargo out in the world than there was in DS1). Also, if I don't play in the fully shared worlds mode, will the road structures get built more slowly?
Please, please, no spoilers for the story. I was steadily playing the game last year and then had to put it on the shelf due to life getting busy, and I'm thinking about continuing where I left off soon.
Posted Jan 27, 2026, 11:39 AM UTC