(BFF) Does the algorithm actually punish you for deleting/remaking an account?
I used Bumble BFF a lot back in maybe 2018? I had no issue ever getting matches, and some became close friends.
I decided I wanted to try the app again, but I didn't want the clutter of all those old conversations/outdated photos, and it seemed easier to delete the old account to just start fresh.
My friend and I made our accounts on the same day (early last week), and since then, she has gotten 20+ waves, and I've only gotten two. We're both women, and we're the same age (early 30s) in the same highly populated neighborhood in NYC.
I think my interests are pretty standard (yoga, cocktails, hiking, breweries, animals, birds, electronic music, etc.). My main pictures are pretty varied and show a variety of interests (me around Halloween with a giant pumpkin, me at a museum, dressed up in a fun dress for a gala, casual clothes on vacation, etc.). I think I'm pretty average-looking, so I feel like that wouldn't hold me back on BFF. I'm queer, and a lot of profiles come across state that they want to make more queer friends. My photo prompts are good conversation starters.
I honestly thought though that something was just not clicking with my profile, but other than the huge discrepancy with my wave count compared to my friend's, the app is acting weird for me in other ways too.
- When she goes through her people for the day, her app says something like "That's it for today!" Mine says that I have "seen everyone new," which has to be blatantly untrue living in NYC. If I click "Browse profiles you skipped the first time around," it shows me people I waved to.
- If I go onto the screen of people who waved to me, it gives me kind of a rude message that says, "Looks like it's just you!" And it tells me to broaden my filters, which are already set to a 30-49 age range and "nearby," rather than "close."
- If I do adjust my filters, even if I make it MORE narrow (32-40 for instance), it suddenly shows me new people. But on my friend's app, when she has gone through all of that day's profiles, that's it.
I've seen some other posts mention that if you delete & restart, it hurts you. Could this be true? I just moved to a new neighborhood and was excited to make friends close by, so I'm really disappointed by the experience so far with the new BFF app.
Posted Jun 27, 2026, 10:22 AM UTC