Pluralsight was highly recommended to me, but I want to warn you about their free-trial
Update edit: They reconciled the situation quickly and with options I thought really made sense. I admit I get a little touchy about free trial auto-renewals but I am very impressed with their resolution and so quickly:
I apologize that you feel sleighed, that is not our intention. According to our records, you signed up for a free 10-day trial on July 11th. When you sign up, you are notified that the trial will convert to a subscription unless you cancel the auto-renew yourself. Since today is the 21st of July, your account auto-renewed and your card was charged since the auto-renew was not disabled.
At this point, we have two options:
- If you are still dissatisfied, I can cancel your subscription and offer you a one-time refund of the amount you were charged ($49).
- We let the charge stand and you continue using Pluralsight at your convenience. I can even upgrade you to an Annual Subscription if you like and charge you the difference between what you already paid and the Annual Subscription price ($250).
I am happy to help you do either option, just let me know how you would like to proceed. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks, Pluralsight Support
Original post: TL;DR Pluralsight billed me on the last day listed as part of the free trial. The Year+ for $300 doesn't appear as an option when you are already a logged-in subscriber but does to "new" potential clients.
I was very excited to start using Pluralsight, but I am tight on money at the moment and it would make sense to start with the free trial anyways. The free trial is listed as expiring today but they have already billed me for one month.
Besides feeling slightly deceived I was actually really interested in the promotion they were running for 1-year of their Plus service. I changed my subscription to avoid being billed again before I was ready and decided to see if that would still be available. Unfortunately, it appeared as if the promotion must have ended while I was doing the free trial.
This seemed to coincidental so I checked it in another browser and making sure to skip passed the free trial option and into pricing for individuals and the promotion was still going and readily available.
I had to vent a little bit. I was sold on this site based on the quality that they delivered. I was hoping that a site with a good reputation would not have to be unclear like this.
Edit: I did use their "contact us" link and told them what I had expected and that I had been interested in a year subscription but they had already billed me for the month. I'm not expecting a refund and I'll see how my month goes. If it goes well I will still consider the them if the YearPlus plan is available to me for the promotional price they currently have it at.
Posted Jul 21, 2016, 7:58 PM UTC · edited
Anytime I sign up for a trial period-like deal, I cancel at least 48 hours before the actual date. Many people don't realize that a company running the deal can be in a time zone that crosses into the next day (at their location), then use their location to say, "Time's up."
I don't know if this is what you encountered, but I've encountered this thing before.