Local user account deleted and all System Restore Points wiped out
Bug report: After running TronScript in Safe Mode with Networking, my local user account was deleted, and all the restore points were wiped out. I still have the local administrator account, so I can rebuild my personal account from there.
OS: Windows 10 Pro, version 1607, build 14393.187
Switches used: None
EDIT: After further checking, I've found that the account wasn't deleted-- it just had all of its groups removed from it, making it unusable. I was able to restore the account's groups and recovered it successfully. I still have no local restore points though, and the maximum restore point utilization was set to 0% which also disabled future restore point creation.
Posted Sep 21, 2016, 7:11 PM UTC · edited
From the readme:
https://github.com/bmrf/tron/blob/master/README.md#full-tron-description
It shouldn't have set your restore utilization to 0%, but that could be part of the Windows 10 problems.
I'd manually created a pre-run restore point based off of that instruction, but I don't think either of us expected that restore point to be nuked in the process. I interpreted it as "restore points will not be created in Windows 10 Safe Mode, so make one yourself before running this".
meaning, not safe mode
Yes, but that's listed under the 'Create System Restore point' heading, which implies that only restore point creation is impacted when run in Safe Mode. There's also a specific lack of verbiage about it deleting your extant manually-created restore points, which I would think is a pretty critical notation if this is known behavior.
Agreed.