r/kindle•
toridoto

If you still prefer the older way of highlighting, please send feedback to Amazon like I did. They've been known to backtrack on feature changes, like with the dots in library view.

They brought back the book-length/progress dots in the library view after users complained.

The older, nicer way of highlighting: the highlight is copied to My Clippings.txt only when you tap on "Highlight".

The new way: the passage is copied to My Clippings.txt the moment you lift your finger after selecting. This results in a lot of unintended and inaccurate highlights in My Clippings. (Note: there is no option to disable this. The quick-highlight toggle in settings only controls whether the menu appears after highlighting.)

edit - feedback link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/rsvp/leave-feedback.html

Posted Apr 20, 2019, 2:46 AM UTC · edited

185
fyoosha•

So that people can copy and paste this feedback to Amazon:

Kindle Update.

Highlight behaviour.

The latest update has changed the moment that highlighted text is written to the My Clippings.txt file.

Before Update: The text was added to the .txt file when the user touched the “Highlight” button.

After Update: The text is added to the .txt file when the user releases their touch after selecting text from a passage BUT before the user has touched the “Highlight” button.

Is this a bug or intended?

A user selecting text, is not the same as a user confirming they want to highlight the text by pressing the ‘Highlight’ button. So it’s bizarre for the text to be copied to the My Clippings.txt file BEFORE the highlight button is touched.

The new updated behaviour also means that every accidental highlight is written to the My Clippings.txt file - which makes for a really messy and confusing user experience.

Please revert this back to how it worked before.

6
maximusvegas45Kindle Paperwhite 3•

Thanks for this. Sent this message via both my Amazon accounts!

1
overactive-bladder•

aaaaand sent.

thanks for this

1
lovingfriendstar•

I just sent an email. I was having tons of trouble with this stupid feature. I hope they change it back ASAP or at least give us an option to toggle it in Settings.

1
fyoosha•

Oh no that’s a really bad update!

A user selecting text, is not the same as a user confirming they want to highlight the text by pressing the ‘highlight’ button. So it’s bizarre for the text to be copied to the My Clippings.txt file before the highlight button is touched.

Definitely sending feedback on this.

3