Forced closed a Channel and lost my funds.
Edit: This has been cleared up, false alarm everybody.
I’m sure this has been posted a million times but hopefully someone can point me to some answers..
I force closed a channel on eclair after a month of the other node being offline; and me being an average joe, I foolishly put 0.005 BTC in it back when BTC was 3800. It was roughly a 20 dollar input and I wanted it back as it has obviously appreciated in value.
Well, I just found out I received 0.00028 out of my 0.005 BTC initially invested.
Excuse me, but what the hell !
What happened to the rest of it?
Is there any way I can troubleshoot this or is my investment lost?
I am a little bothered by this because it’s not the only channel I want to close, and I don’t want to lose the investment.
Posted May 29, 2019, 11:40 PM UTC · edited
Looks like it was already answered, but another thing that could potentially happen in cases like this is that you put X BTC into a new channel, but you already have other channels. Over time due to routing transactions, some of your funds are pushed to the remote side of your channel in question, but the same amount (ignoring fees) are pushed to your side among your other nodes. Although it's a wash overall for your node, when you later go to close that one channel in question, you could potentially find that it has much less of YOUR money in it than you put in. In reality, all that "missing money" is just distributed among your other channels.